Bulletproof

Pain holds nothing over me
Words cannot cut if they never make their mark
A heart cannot break if it does not love first
Family can’t fall apart if it never first existed
No, I don’t fear pain
I make pain fear

I’ve been through fire
I’ve lived through war
I’ve taken the beatings
I’ve come out stronger
My heart may have died
But I didn’t

I built up a wall, learned to not feel
I care about nothing
I feel for nothing
Some try to reach me
Thinking I am a poor, misunderstood soul
They should leave alone what they don’t know

Maybe I am twisted, confused
Maybe I am upset, hurting
But I am bulletproof
You can’t hurt me
You can’t even touch me
No, I don’t fear pain
I make pain fear

-Chickadee

Leave a Reply

