More Than You Love Me

You went behind my back
Did “stuff” you knew would hurt me
Tried to brush it off as an “innocent mistake”
But you knew as well as I that this has happened before
It’s not spur of the moment
It’s habitual
A black swirling abyss you fall into…repeatedly

I always blame myself
That’s how you get away with it
“If I didn’t frustrate him so much…”
“If I was better at…”
But it is not my fault
It is yours
You made your choice
To break my trust
To lose my respect
And to disappoint me
And it hurts, badly
It cuts deep
But you don’t stop
Because you love your sins more than you love me

-Chickadee

Leave a Reply

