To My Little Sister

I have jewelry with “fearless” boldly printed
But I do fear
I fear losing you, my best friend, my little sister

I almost lost you once
Before I ever held you
Before I had ever even met you

I almost lost you again
Waiting anxiously to know if you needed heart surgery
A surgery that would determine your future, or whether you even had one

And now, I fear losing you again
But you are a survivor
And I love you for it
You have taught me perseverance
You have taught me bravery
You have taught me strength
You have taught me true love
So stay strong
And keep doing what you do best
Surviving

-Chickadee

Leave a Reply

