Beginning of the End

It started out with an appointment

Led to a diagnosis

And now boasts of the beginning of the end

The end of our laughter and smiles

The end of joy

The end of health

 

It started out as a lump

Developed into a tumor

And now whispers “cancer”

Cancer that will suck the life out of you

Cancer that will slowly torture you

Cancer that will rip you from my arms

 

It started out as denial

Developed into anger

And now crushes me with unspeakable sorrow

A sorrow so rich, I can’t even breath

A sorrow so deep, my tears create oceans

A sorrow so raw, I cannot survive

 

It started out with good-bye

Developed into a funeral

And now my grim reality

A reality without you

A reality I never thought would be my own

A reality that all started with an appointment

 

It started out with marriage

Developed into the beginning of the end

And now is over

The beginning of the end came too soon

The beginning of the end held no hope

The beginning of the end

 

-Chickadee 10/13/16

 

 

Leave a Reply

